3 Do not eat any detestable thing.

References for Deuteronomy 14:3

4 These are the animals you may eat: the ox, the sheep, the goat,

References for Deuteronomy 14:4

5 the deer, the gazelle, the roe deer, the wild goat, the ibex, the antelope and the mountain sheep.a

References for Deuteronomy 14:5

    • v 14:5 - The precise identification of some of the birds and animals in this chapter is uncertain.
      6 You may eat any animal that has a divided hoof and that chews the cud.
      7 However, of those that chew the cud or that have a divided hoof you may not eat the camel, the rabbit or the hyrax. Although they chew the cud, they do not have a divided hoof; they are ceremonially unclean for you.
      8 The pig is also unclean; although it has a divided hoof, it does not chew the cud. You are not to eat their meat or touch their carcasses.

      References for Deuteronomy 14:8

      9 Of all the creatures living in the water, you may eat any that has fins and scales.
      10 But anything that does not have fins and scales you may not eat; for you it is unclean.
      11 You may eat any clean bird.
      12 But these you may not eat: the eagle, the vulture, the black vulture,
      13 the red kite, the black kite, any kind of falcon,

      References for Deuteronomy 14:13

      14 any kind of raven,

      References for Deuteronomy 14:14

      15 the horned owl, the screech owl, the gull, any kind of hawk,
      16 the little owl, the great owl, the white owl,
      17 the desert owl, the osprey, the cormorant,

      References for Deuteronomy 14:17

      18 the stork, any kind of heron, the hoopoe and the bat.
      19 All flying insects are unclean to you; do not eat them.
      20 But any winged creature that is clean you may eat.

      References for Deuteronomy 14:20