Try out the new Click here!

Joshua 12 (The Message)

View In My Bible
1 These are the kings that the People of Israel defeated and whose land they took on the east of the Jordan, from the Arnon Gorge to Mount Hermon, with the whole eastern side of the Arabah Valley. 2 Sihon king of the Amorites, who reigned from Heshbon: His rule extended from Aroer, which sits at the edge of the Arnon Gorge, from the middle of the gorge and over half of Gilead to the Gorge of the Jabbok River, which is the border of the Ammonites. 3 His rule included the eastern Arabah Valley from the Sea of Kinnereth to the Arabah Sea (the Salt Sea), eastward toward Beth Jeshimoth and southward to the slopes of Pisgah. 4 And Og king of Bashan, one of the last of the Rephaim who reigned from Ashtaroth and Edrei: 5 His rule extended from Mount Hermon and Salecah over the whole of Bashan to the border of the Geshurites and the Maacathites (the other half of Gilead) to the border of Sihon king of Heshbon. 6 Moses the servant of God and the People of Israel defeated them. And Moses the servant of God gave this land as an inheritance to the Reubenites, the Gadites, and half of the tribe of Manasseh. 7 And these are the kings of the land that Joshua and the People of Israel defeated in the country west of the Jordan, from Baal Gad in the Valley of Lebanon south to Mount Halak, which towers over Seir. Joshua gave this land to the tribes of Israel as a possession, according to their divisions: 8 lands in the mountains, the western foothills, and the Arabah Valley, on the slopes, and in the wilderness and the Negev desert (lands on which Hittites, Amorites and Canaanites, Perizzites, Hivites, and Jebusites had lived). The kings were: 9 he king of Jericho one The king of Ai (near Bethel) one 10 he king of Jerusalem one The king of Hebron one 11 he king of Jarmuth one The king of Lachish one 12 he king of Eglon one The king of Gezer one 13 he king of Debir one The king of Geder one 14 he king of Hormah one The king of Arad one 15 he king of Libnah one The king of Adullam one 16 he king of Makkedah one The king of Bethel one 17 he king of Tappuah one The king of Hepher one 18 he king of Aphek one The king of Lasharon one 19 he king of Madon one The king of Hazor one 20 he king of Shimron Meron one The king of Acshaph one 21 he king of Taanach one The king of Megiddo one 22 he king of Kedesh one The king of Jokneam in Carmel one 23 he king of Dor (Naphoth Dor) one The king of Goyim in Gilgal one 24 he king of Tirzah one A total of thirty-one kings.
Link Options
More Options