4 These are the animals you may eat: the ox, the sheep, the goat,

References for Deuteronomy 14:4

5 the deer, the gazelle, the roe deer, the wild goat, the ibex, the antelope and the mountain sheep.a

References for Deuteronomy 14:5

    • v 14:5 - The precise identification of some of the birds and animals in this chapter is uncertain.
      6 You may eat any animal that has a divided hoof and that chews the cud.
      7 However, of those that chew the cud or that have a divided hoof you may not eat the camel, the rabbit or the hyrax. Although they chew the cud, they do not have a divided hoof; they are ceremonially unclean for you.
      8 The pig is also unclean; although it has a divided hoof, it does not chew the cud. You are not to eat their meat or touch their carcasses.

      References for Deuteronomy 14:8

      9 Of all the creatures living in the water, you may eat any that has fins and scales.
      10 But anything that does not have fins and scales you may not eat; for you it is unclean.
      11 You may eat any clean bird.
      12 But these you may not eat: the eagle, the vulture, the black vulture,
      13 the red kite, the black kite, any kind of falcon,

      References for Deuteronomy 14:13

      14 any kind of raven,

      References for Deuteronomy 14:14