Deuteronomy 14:6

6 You may eat any animal that has a divided hoof and that chews the cud.

Deuteronomy 14:6 in Other Translations

King James Version (KJV)
6 And every beast that parteth the hoof, and cleaveth the cleft into two claws, and cheweth the cud among the beasts, that ye shall eat.
English Standard Version (ESV)
6 Every animal that parts the hoof and has the hoof cloven in two and chews the cud, among the animals, you may eat.
New Living Translation (NLT)
6 “You may eat any animal that has completely split hooves and chews the cud,
The Message Bible (MSG)
6 any animal that has a cloven hoof and chews the cud.
American Standard Version (ASV)
6 And every beast that parteth the hoof, and hath the hoof cloven in two, [and] cheweth the cud, among the beasts, that may ye eat.
GOD'S WORD Translation (GW)
6 You may eat all animals that have completely divided hoofs and that also chew their cud.
Holman Christian Standard Bible (CSB)
6 You may eat any animal that has hooves divided in two and chews the cud.
New International Reader's Version (NIRV)
6 You can eat any animal that has hoofs that are separated completely in two. But it must also chew the cud.

Deuteronomy 14:6 Meaning and Commentary

Ver. 6-8. And every beast that parted the hoof
In this and the two following verses two general rules are given, by which it might be known what beasts were fit for food and what not; one is if they parted the hoof, and the other if they chewed the cud, such might be eaten; but such that only chewed the cud, but did not divide the hoof, as the camel, hare, and coney, might not be eaten; and so if they divided the hoof, and did not chew the cud, as the swine, they were alike unlawful; (See Gill on Leviticus 11:3), (See Gill on Leviticus 11:4), (See Gill on Leviticus 11:5), (See Gill on Leviticus 11:6), (See Gill on Leviticus 11:7), (See Gill on Leviticus 11:8).

Deuteronomy 14:6 In-Context

4 These are the animals you may eat: the ox, the sheep, the goat,
5 the deer, the gazelle, the roe deer, the wild goat, the ibex, the antelope and the mountain sheep.
6 You may eat any animal that has a divided hoof and that chews the cud.
7 However, of those that chew the cud or that have a divided hoof you may not eat the camel, the rabbit or the hyrax. Although they chew the cud, they do not have a divided hoof; they are ceremonially unclean for you.
8 The pig is also unclean; although it has a divided hoof, it does not chew the cud. You are not to eat their meat or touch their carcasses.
Scripture quoted by permission.  Quotations designated (NIV) are from THE HOLY BIBLE: NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION®.  NIV®.  Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica.  All rights reserved worldwide.