Catholic Bibles

The Catholic Bible includes additional books in the Old Testament not included in most Protestant Bibles. These seven additional books of the Old Testament are known as the deuterocanonical books and include Sirach, Tobit, Wisdom, Judith, 1 and 1 Maccabees, and Baruch. The Apocrypha includes 15 books, all but one of which are Jewish in origin and found in the Septuagint (parts of 2 Esdras are possibly Christian and Latin in origin). Influenced by the Jewish canon of the OT, the custom arose of making the Apocrypha a separate section in the Protestant Bible, or sometimes even of omitting them entirely. The Catholic view, expressed as a doctrine of faith at the Council of Trent, is that 12 of these 15 works (in a different enumeration, however) are canonical Scripture; they are called the Deuterocanonical Books. The three books of the Protestant Apocrypha that are not accepted by Catholics are 1-2 Esdras and the Prayer of Manasseh.

There are several popular Roman Catholic Bible translations available today. The Common English Bible w/ Apocrypha (CEBA) is one of the more popular translations of the English Roman Catholic Bible. Other popular translations include the Revised Standard Version – Catholic Edition (RSVA), The New Revised Standard Version – Catholic Edition (NRSA), the Good News Translation with Apocrypha (GNTA), The Latin Vulgate with Apocrypha (VULA), and the Douay-Rheims.”
  • Common English Bible (CEB)

    The Common English Bible is a translation of the scriptures intended to be a comfortable reading level for over half of all English readers. It attempts to substitute more traditional biblical terminology with more natural wording.

  • Douay-Rheims (RHE)

    The Douay-Rheims is the translation upon which nearly all English Catholic Bible versions are based. It includes the seven Deutero-Canonical books (also known as the Apocrypha).

  • Good News Translation w/ Apocrypha (GNTA)

    The Good News Translation was first published in 1976 by the American Bible Society in a "common language." The simple, everyday language makes it especially popular for children and those learning English.

  • King James Version w/ Apocrypha (KJVA)

    The KJV is the first version of Scripture authorized by the Protestant church and commissioned by England's King James I.

  • New Revised Standard w/ Apocrypha (NRSA)

    The New Revised Standard is a popular translation that follows in the traditions of the King James and Revised Standard Versions. It was written with the goal of preserving the best of the older versions while incorporating modern English.

  • Revised Standard Version w/ Apocrypha (RSVA)

    The Revised Standard Version is a revision of the King James Version, the Revised Version, and American Standard Version. This text is intended for both private reading and public worship.

  • The Latin Vulgate w/ Apocrypha (VULA)

    The Latin Vulgate Bible is an early translation of the Bible into Latin made by St. Jerome and completed in 405 AD. The Latin Vulgate's Old Testament is the first Latin version translated directly from the Hebrew Tanakh rather than from the Greek Septuagint. It became the definitive and officially promulgated Latin version of the Bible of the Roman Catholic Church.

  • Third Millennium Bible w/ Apocrypha (TMBA)

    The Third Millennium Bible (TMB), New Authorized VersionTM, is an updating of the full and complete text of the Authorized (King James) Version of the Holy Bible, first published in A.D. 1611.

California - Do Not Sell My Personal Information  California - CCPA Notice