Joshua 19:7

7 Ain, Rimmon, Ether and Ashan—four towns and their villages—

Joshua 19:7 in Other Translations

7 Ain, Remmon, and Ether, and Ashan; four cities and their villages:
7 Ain, Rimmon, Ether, and Ashan--four cities with their villages,
7 It also included Ain, Rimmon, Ether, and Ashan—four towns with their villages,
7 Ain, Rimmon, Ether, and Ashan -
7 Ain, Rimmon, Ether, and Ashan-four cities, with their villages;

Joshua 19:7 Meaning and Commentary

Joshua 19:7

Ain, Remmon
Of the two first, which were cities of Judah, (See Gill on Joshua 15:32);

and Ether, and Ashan; of the two last, (See Gill on Joshua 19:42);

four cities and their villages;
Ain, Remmon, therefore, could not be one city, at this time, as it seems to have been in the times of Nehemiah, ( Nehemiah 11:29 ) ; or otherwise there would have been but three cities.

Joshua 19:7 In-Context

5 Ziklag, Beth Markaboth, Hazar Susah,
6 Beth Lebaoth and Sharuhen—thirteen towns and their villages;
7 Ain, Rimmon, Ether and Ashan—four towns and their villages—
8 and all the villages around these towns as far as Baalath Beer (Ramah in the Negev). This was the inheritance of the tribe of the Simeonites, according to its clans.
9 The inheritance of the Simeonites was taken from the share of Judah, because Judah’s portion was more than they needed. So the Simeonites received their inheritance within the territory of Judah.

Cross References 2

Scripture quoted by permission.  Quotations designated (NIV) are from THE HOLY BIBLE: NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION®.  NIV®.  Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica.  All rights reserved worldwide.