Deuteronomy 14:4-8 NIV

4 These are the animals you may eat:1 the ox, the sheep, the goat,2

References for Deuteronomy 14:4

5 the deer,3 the gazelle, the roe deer, the wild goat,4 the ibex, the antelope and the mountain sheep.a

References for Deuteronomy 14:5

    • a 14:5 - The precise identification of some of the birds and animals in this chapter is uncertain.
      6 You may eat any animal that has a split hoof divided in two and that chews the cud.
      7 However, of those that chew the cud or that have a split hoof completely divided you may not eat the camel, the rabbit or the coney.b Although they chew the cud, they do not have a split hoof; they are ceremonially unclean for you.

      References for Deuteronomy 14:7

        • b 14:7 - That is, the hyrax or rock badger
          8 The pig is also unclean; although it has a split hoof, it does not chew the cud. You are not to eat their meat or touch their carcasses.5

          References for Deuteronomy 14:8