Free eBook: Getting Through the Storms in Life

Joshua 19:15

15 Included were Kattath, Nahalal, Shimron, Idalah and Bethlehem. There were twelve towns and their villages.

Read Joshua 19:15 Using Other Translations

And Kattath, and Nahallal, and Shimron, and Idalah, and Bethlehem: twelve cities with their villages.
and Kattath, Nahalal, Shimron, Idalah, and Bethlehem--twelve cities with their villages.
The towns in these areas included Kattath, Nahalal, Shimron, Idalah, and Bethlehem—twelve towns with their surrounding villages.

What does Joshua 19:15 mean?

John Gill's Exposition of the Bible
Joshua 19:15

And Kattath, and Nahallal
Of the two first of these we read nowhere else, but in ( Joshua 21:34 Joshua 21:35 ) ( Judges 1:30 ) ;

and Shimron
was a royal city, the king of which Joshua took and hanged, ( Joshua 11:1 ) ( 12:20 ) ;

and Idalah
is a place Bochart conjectures F20 where the goddess Venus was worshipped, Idalia being one of her names;

and Bethlehem
is a different place from that which was the birthplace of our Lord, called Bethlehem of Judah, to distinguish it from this:

twelve cities with their villages;
more are named, but some of them belonged to other tribes, and only lay on the borders of this; and others might not be properly cities, but small towns.


F20 Canaan, l. 1. c. 3. col. 356.
California - Do Not Sell My Personal Information  California - CCPA Notice